Kyogu Lee

Principal Investigator, Associate Professor

Kyogu Lee received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea, in 1996, the M.M. degree in Music Technology from New York University, New York, in 2002, and the M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering and the Ph.D. degree in Computer-based Music Theory and Acoustics from Stanford University, Stanford, CA, in 2007 and 2008, respectively. He worked as a Senior Researcher in the Media Technology Lab at Gracenote from 2007 to 2009. He is now an associate professor in the Graduate School of Convergence Science and Technology at Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea and is leading the Music and Audio Research Group (MARG). He is also the director of Center for Interactive Media Art and Technology (CIMAT) at the Advanced Institutes of Convergence Technology (http://aict.snu.ac.kr). His research focuses on signal processing and machine learning applied to music/audio. Some of research interests include:

  • Music Retrieval
  • Recommender Systems
  • Audio/Music Signal Processing
  • Music Perception/Cognition
  • Source Separation
  • New Interface/Interaction Design


Kyung Myun Lee

BK assistant professor

Kyung Myun Lee received her B. A. degree in psychology and music theory from Seoul National University, Korea and Ph. D. in music cognition (certificate in cognitive science) from Northwestern University, USA. Her areas of research include cognitive neuroscience of music, auditory memory and attention, experience-dependent brain plasticity, brainstem & cortical auditory evoked potentials. She is currently a BK assistant professor of Smart Humanity Convergence Center at Seoul National University and teaches ‘music and neuroscience’ for graduate students. She is also the President of Korean Society for Music Perception and Cognition and the Vice President of Asia-pacific Society for Cognitive Sciences of Music.


Ph.D. Candidates


Ph.D. Students


Master's Students

Yena Yoo

Master's Student



Kibeom Lee

Samsung Electronics Software Center

Ziwon Hyung

Samsung Electronics

Yongki Park

Samsung Electronics

Jae Pil Kim

Samsung Electronics

Sangmin Lee

LG Electronics CTO Department

Yekyung Kim

LG Electronics CTO Department

Jae Hun Kim

Delft University of Technology

Hwakyung Hyun

Samsung Electronics Mobile

Sooyeon Yoo

LG Electronics CTO Department